My Major

Hi Everyone!

I’ve been dropping in reading posts for several months and finally decided to register. I’ve never posted on a forum/chat before so we’ll see how this goes…

Same story as you all know by now, 37 years old, going back to school after nearly 17 years to finish a B.S. before hopefully heading off to D.O. school. Mostly I’ve been a professional fine artist, designer, author and mother with a long, successful career, which most recently includes owning a wellness center and designing/running a hospital based massage therapy program for the past 5 years. I heard about a Dr. Fullford and really started looking at Osteopathic medicine and fell in love! Anyhow, there’s more but I don’t want to bore you all… the point is, I really want to be a Family Practice D.O. and I’m planning on doing a B.S. major in Family Studies/Human Development with a minor in pre-med. I’ve been taking a lot of accelerated science classes (gen. chem, physics, stats, etc) at the community college to save time & money while still running my clinic and hospital program. So far I have a 4.0 (but now in summer Physics so we’ll see!)Anyhow, will this major/minor plan hurt my chances of getting into D.O. school? Do I need to major in biochem or physiology to be competitive? I know this question gets asked all the time but it’s intimidating to see all these younger students running around insisting that you have to major in a hardcore science to get into med school. What do you guys think?

NO, you absolutely do NOT have to major in a hard science to get into med school. Major in what you are most interested in. Do very well in your science classes. You will do fine.

Mary