My Pred-med story

Well my story hasn’t really started yet. I just began contemplating medical school.

I’m currently 32 and a business analyst. I have a BS and a Master’s degree in an unrelated field. The thought of “creating requirements documents” for the next 30 years just made me sad. I’m tired of the cube life. I believe I have the intellect for careers that make much more money and I’m ready for something completely different. I wish I had been as focused when I was younger and had more brain power, LOL.

My main concerns going forward are

1. Money- not paying for school but going from a full time job with decent income to, I guess, part-time at best but probably no job. I am married but living on my husband’s income alone will be very uncomfortable.

2. Getting accepted- when I was younger I had a bunch of scholarships and getting accepted to school wasn’t an issue. Being critically judged worries me a little.

3. Changing my mind. I tend to be a little fickle- not conducive to a stint in med school. Ah well…

I look forward to reading this forum and either being scared shietless or inspired.

Hi. Our stories sound a bit similar. I’ve been an engineer for a long time, and am also fed up with the “cube life”. I’ve got a BS and MS in my field, and I quit working full-time last year to go back and complete my pre-reqs.

So far as money goes, you just need to have a plan in place. When you’re in med school, you’ll be able to take out a certain amount in loans that is designated for living expenses, so you may not have to get through on just your husband’s salary alone.

If this is what you really aspire to be, don’t let any of those issues get in the way. You’ll find a way to work it out. You’ll also find a lot of like-minded people here. Welcome!