my story in a nutshell.. advice?

Hello all, just another run-of-the- mill non-trad story here. I graduated from Johns Hopkins as a BSN in 2006 and am currently working as an RN. Somewhere in there I decided to go the premed route. UG GPA is decent: having been at two other uni’s before Hopkins (nursing on the east coast is weird that way) I have a

-cumulative GPA of 3.45ish…

-graduated from Hopkins with a 3.66.

-Now I’m taking the rest of my prereqs and was just very dissapointed to find that I got a B+ in organic chem lab I…

-expecting a low B or high C in the lecture component.

-What really worries me is my science GPA… I got a B in microbio and a C in my first bio class freshman year.

-I am already planning to take an upper-level bio class and do better in that one. Up 'til now, A’s in all other chem courses and labs. I just feel so… average!

What are my chances as it stands, would you say? What should I do to up the ante? Any advice would be much appreciated.

I think your chances are decent. You really need to try and pull up your grades in the next organic course, though. Organic is a class that adcoms tend to look at very closely. Do the best you can in your science courses from here on out and spend the time necessary to do well on the MCAT.

Good luck.

Thanks Emergency!

My current debate is whether to take biochem in addition to the bio course I already plan on taking. At this point I think I probably will as long as it won’t add up to a huge time delay. I am still youngish, almost 25, but as it is will be starting med school at 26. What are your thoughts on this? Is there such a thing as overdoing it (as far as how many sciences you take) when you are a non-degree seeking post-bacc applicant?