My story...where to go from here?

Hi Everyone-

I would like to say thanks in advance for taking the time to read my story and offer any words of wisdom regarding my situation.

My story:

For as young as I can remember I’ve always been interested in human science and health care disparities. As an undergrad student I pursued my BS in International Health Studies hoping to go the public health route. While I was happy with my decision to major in public health I still longed to be a part of the medical field so I took evening science classes for two years while I worked full time as a paraeducator for special needs middle school students.

I did OK in undergrad (3.2) from Georgetown and I got mostly A’s and B’s –a C in physics II in my pre-req classes from the Univ of Maryland. I decided to take the MCAT in 2007 & did horribly (19M), and then I decided to take them again in 2008 and still did horribly (18M). I applied to a post bac program that preps you for the MCAT and was accepted but after those two bitter scores I pretty much gave up on my dream of being a medical doctor and decided to pursue my Master’s in Public Health-- Epidemiology.

Now that I’m about to complete my Master’s I still have this desire to go on to medical school. I know medicine isn’t for everyone but I really want this-- I’m just terribly afraid of failing (esp the MCAT) and being rejected.

I need to decide whether I am going to try to re-apply to the MCAT prep post-bacc that I was originally accepted into last year. I’m just afraid that they won’t accept me this year because I withdrew my acceptance last year. I’m also 27 this year so I would be 29 going-on 30 when I started Medical school.

I’ve been really hard on myself lately for allowing so much time to go by since I graduated from undergrad in 2005—I’m not getting any younger and I want a family as well as a career.