National Health Service/Armed Services Health

Does anyone have any first-hand knowledge or experience with either the National Health Service Corps Scholarship or the Armed Forces Health Professions Scholarship Program? Are these programs that we middle-age students should be considering (or even can be considering)?
Paying for medical school is such a pleasantly stressful thing to think about! Between my wife and me, we’ve got a considerable school debt load without the addition of medical school loans. I’ll be heading into my 40th birthday when I finish med school and I’m concerned with whether we’ll be able to pay off our school debt let alone having anything for retirement.
I’d appreciate any information or guidance anyone might be able to provide.
THANKS!
Larry

Larry,
I am in my fourth year and have had and Air Force scholarship for all four years of school. Feel free to search some of my past posts for info about the scholarship. Also, please feel free to post any questions you have and I will do my best to answer them. Given the shortage of officers that has occured in the past few years, the age requirements have changed; unfortunately, I do not know what they are.
Tara

Larry, a colleague of mine who was a few years older than me - finishing med school in her mid-50s - had a NHSC scholarship. I found the “fine print” daunting when I looked into it - although I was pretty sure I wanted to do primary care, if I’d taken NHSC money and then gone into a subspecialty, I would’ve had to pay it back at a premium rate. I also understand that NHSC scholarships are actually really competitive to get.