Need a game plan!

Greetings everyone,
I just joined and would like to be sure I am on the right track. I graduated in Bio with 2.67 GPA 8 yrs ago and have finally decided to go for medicine. My plan is to retake the big 4 (Inorg,org,Phys,Bio)to bring the GPA up then take the MCAT. However, since I work full-time, I can only take 2 courses at a time.
It was mentioned to me that Admissions committees frown upon the “one or two courses-at-a-time” method; especially if you’ve already taken them. But since I did not do well the first time which has been about 10 yrs ago, I need to really brush up on the concepts for the MCAT and to increase the GPA.
How much of a difference would it make enrolling in a Post-bacc program vs following my plan? I would also appreciate any suggestions I’ve not mentioned.
Thanks!

The suggestion I would make is to add a year to your plan and take a couple of advanced courses (biochem, genetics, cell bio are a few examples) in addition to the prereqs. If you take two courses at a time while working and do well, most schools will be happy. If you add a couple of new science classes as I suggest, you won’t just be rehashing old stuff and can show your smarts.

Hey Byron2! Welcome!
I am following that exact plan - I can only afford to take 2 classes per semester for time and financial reasons. I work full-time outside of school and so far, so good. The same advice was given to me to take some higher-level courses after the “big 4”, and that’s probably the best thing to do if you are willing to give it a little extra time to apply.
Good luck!

Thanks Denise! I like that suggestion since I’m not in any rush. I’m more concerned about following the RIGHT plan to get there so this is something I would definitely consider.

Thanks J-