Need Advice from Ohio State University Pre-Med/Medical Students

Wow, I can’t describe how refreshing and reassuring it is to find a forum like this. It’s nice to know that I’m not the only one out there with deep aspirations of becoming a physician even though my background is non-traditional.

I graduated from The Ohio State University back in 2004. Having earned my degree in Management Information Systems, I set out to apply my abilities in consulting and problem solving to help businesses and fix complex problems with the use of technology. My career since then has revolved around selling software solutions, first for IBM and now for a smaller company that develops pharmaceutical software. Needless to say, working in consultative sales has been very unfulfilling.

My new found desire to enter into the field of medicine is inspired by several different factors and one profound moment that occurred in my life this year.

Several weeks ago a friend and I were working out at a park and my friend began suffering severe head pain. After a trip to the hospital via EMT, 3 doses of dilaudid, a CT scan, and one spinal tap later; he was cleared and sent home free of any internal head bleeds. Something clicked inside my head after witnessing this and all of a sudden a million thoughts and questions went through my head. How does the spinal tap work? What did the CT scan look like and how do you detect aneurisms? How much dilaudid should my friend be receiving based on his size? What exactly was wrong with him? What could I have done to help him?