Need advice... post-bac formal program OR take classes on my own?

I need some honest advice.

I graduated with a bachelors degree in psychology and a 3.96 cum GPA from a small private catholic college in NY. I’ve shadowed a doctor, and am currently doing research in cancer survivorship.

I’ve been accepted to a few formal post bacc programs, but am beginning to reconsider enrolling. I dont want to “drop” any names of the schools i’ve been accepted to, but they are good programs. However, I’ve read alot about competition among classmates, competiting for linkage spots and gaining committee letters. One program I was admitted to, said they would only write me a committee letter if i get a 30 or higher on the MCAT.

I am not the best at standardized testing. My GREs/SATs definitely show my less than great scores.

Would simply taking the pre-req’s at my undergrad institution put me at a disadvantage for gaining admission to medical school? I realize I need to do well on the MCAT regardless, however would sacrificing the “name” of the post-bacc program and earning A’s on my own at an “unknown” 4 yr institution put me at a disadvantage? I could continue my research position if I stay local as well.

ANY advise would be greatly appreciated. My goal is to become a doctor - it means a lot to me, so I want to make the best decision.

Thank you in advance

Well I definitely wouldn’t go to the post-bacc that won’t give you a committee letter unless you get a 30 on the MCAT, good grief. That’s ridiculous.

I really truly believe that you can do fine pursuing the prereqs on your own. Lots of us here have done just that. As an alum, you may be able to get a committee letter from your undergrad institution and you will certainly have the opportunity to get some kick-ass LORs from these folks who’ve known you for years.