Need Advice?

I am a first year medical student. But I dropped out of the school three weeks ago. The main reason is I am waiting for the Federal Government job. The second reason is the grade of my anatomy exam. is on the marginal. I understand my background was engineering. I got my B.S. and M.S. in UC Berkeley with the major in Chemical engineering, Civil and Environmental Engineering. I graduated ten years ago with those premedical courses. So,it is quite difficult for me to pick up in the beginning of the few weeks in my medical school. Or I am a lazy person because I don’t want to study up to 3:30 am and wake up at 7:00 am. The situation is worse when the exam is approaching. Fortunately, the Dean allowed me to take a leave of absence one year. Now, I have to face a dilemma: going to MD school or taking a job. Definitely, going to study in MD school is a grueling process and I understand more obstacles will be coming in the future (passing academic and board examination and age restriction). I am 39 years old and have ten years working experience. I have tried to ask myself almost two weeks and it seems I am unable to get the answer? Please give me some advice if someone has come across the similar situation with me?
P.S. The first semester of medical school requires a strong memorization for the material, not reasoning. It seems a little bit different format for the MCAT examination (just my opinion).
Thanks!

Hi,
While I haven’t been in exactly the same position you’ve been in, I have been in a similiar one. I was offered my “dream job”, the same week I was accepted into medical school, and had to decide which way to go. For me, applying for that job had been as a backup to medical school, (and I really didn’t expect to get it) but once it was offered, it was very tempting-- good pay, great hours, doing something I really enjoyed. So I had to think about what it was I really wanted.