need advise

I am 37 with 4 teenage boys. I really want to go to medical school but really don’t have much of a support system. It is of course much easier when having older children when you want to go to school or have a full time job. My question is, is it possible to work a good paying part time job and go to medical school, but also find time to spend with my children? Oh, and of course sleep. My boys do understand that I want to go to school and support me in my decision. I also am thinking about law school if it would be easier, but don’t want to regret that decision later down the road and be unhappy with my career. I have been studying the LSAT and MCAT for the past 6 months. If anyone could give me some advise I would appreciate it. Oh buy the way I know how old I am so please don’t bring up my age in a negative way. Thanks

If you do a search there is great discussion on working and medical school. I understood that it was very challenging. Best of luck!

I’m about to begin 2 pre-med courses in a few weeks while working 40 hours at my current job. I don’t have kids, but I have allocated a few hours on Saturday nights to be for free time to do whatever I want. I have allocated around 23 hours of study time every week (this number does not include class time, but does include homework). I’m hoping this schedule works for me, as I have not actually put it into use yet. I know I’ll be relying on coffee A LOT though; I’m definitely not gonna get my full 8 hour beauty sleep on certain nights…more like 7 hours…not so bad I think.

I think if you tinker with your future schedule you can work out something.