Need good advice

hello

I am a 38 year old who is considering going back to school for the fourth time. I graduated from high school in 1987 and attended a university for three semesters. I left to get married. And when I say left I just stopped attending. My second go at school was in 1992 and lasted about another year. And again messing up my grades. The last time I tried college was in 1999 for two semesters. Needless to say my grades are in the dumps because of this. My previous attempts at college have always been hard because of my family. I do not get support and stability that I needed in order to be successful in college. I have just now (within the last two years) gaining stability and support from my fiance (I had to cut ties with my controlling parents)and I am considering medicine. I have always wanted to help people in that capacity. My dream is to become a coroner. My question is about my grades. I know that the university I attended will give me an academic bankruptcy but the grades will still show up. Is there anything that I can do? Do I need to start over? (I would prefer to since my gpa is probably 2.0 or lower and I did take some core science classes needed to med school. What is the best route to start looking into this?

melanie

At this point, I would say to start from scratch. First, find yourself - don’t define yourself by your parents, your fiancée, or your career plans. Figure out who you are, what you want, and how you’ll get there.

Then, if that still includes school, go for it. Start from scratch, and scratch your way up. Do an entirely new degree, and kick its ass. PROVE beyond a shadow of a doubt that you can do what you set out to do, based only on your own capability and desire.

If you do that, I expect you’ll have a strong foundation, personally and academically. If medicine is what then you want, it will not be out of your reach.

And btw, welcome to OPM . And do take my advice with a grain of salt - I’m only me .