Need pre-med advising please--parents especially welcome!

Hello friends,

Find myself in a bind, and have gotten a lot of useful help/feedback in the past.

I graduated BS 1998, with just shy of 3.5. I took Biology with lab and Chemistry with lab as undergrad. Didn’t do fantastic in the Chemistry, as it was my first year in undergrad, which reflects the 3.48 I had. I then did very well the remainder of my time at undergrad.

I do have a master’s degree, and did very well in my nursing masters.

Now, I am back in school. I am taking Ochem with lab, and will take the second semester next semester.

I followed folks advice to re-take basic biology, but choose to do it w/o lab just to refresh material. Feels like a mistake b/c the teacher is awful, and feel that I would have been better served by doing cell biology or molecular biology.

Now, planning for the next year or so, I need some feedback.

Like I said, I will be taking second semester of Ochem next semester with lab. Summer, I think I will be taking biochem. Has anyone done a biochem class over summer, or is this one not advisable in 8 weeks?

I plan to take MCAT 2013, apply that July. I want and need to to have 3-4 months of full-time study to prepare. I will need that to do well, and don’t want to take it more than once. I don’t think it’s smart to take a class then–unless it’s just a lab section…(at my school, you can divide lab/class)

Is it doable to take Physics II with O Chem I/lab, considering that I have two young children, commute to the school that I am attending, work 10 hours a week…or would it be ok to split up the lab from the course and do Physics II and Physics I and II lab simultaneously next fall. This would mean O chem II an lab next semester with Physics I.

How important are genetics, upper level bio to take?

I’m really struggling with any pre-med advisement at my school that is useful, and need some feedback from more experienced folks.