Need some help.... med school or not?

Hi, I just graduated with my finance degree in 2008 and realized that I want nothing to do with that. I had a feeling during my degree, so I went to talk to the nursing school about their accelerated program. I knew that nursing was not really what I wanted, but it offered me more hope than the advisor in the biology department. I took the program pre-reqs, but I know now that I want to go to medical school. Even though nursing seems more reasonable. I graduated with a GPA of 3.46 and only took one bio class during the four years of my first degree. Since then I have taken the first physics, chem, and second bio. I got A’s and B’s (sadly). I can finish a biology degree in a year and a half plus complete all of my pre-reqs for med school or should I go to a post-bac school? Does anyone know how they calculate your GPA if you graduated once and then you get a second degree? Or how med schools calculate your GPA? Do they just consider the first degree or both? I am thinking that I want to do the degree because I enjoy science and I might just as well get a degree in the same amount of time right? I am very confused. I don’t know if I even have a chance to get into medical school. I just need to know if I should go for it or not (med school). In a side note, this site is really cool and has already helped me with some questions. So, any advice?

Hi Stacy, Welcome to OPM!

In reference to your question about post bacc, I really don’t think that you would need one because you are taking all of your prereqs through this second bachelors degree. I would just suggest that you make sure that during this period that you make sure to take some advanced science classes like biochem, physiology, and genetics to name a few. Of course, these already might be built into the bio degree.

Don’t freak about your B grade, it is still a good grade.