need support from fellow opms...

alright guys - you’ve got me through thick and thin. i’m calling on you now, once again, to be there for me. i’ve got two weeks to go before the usmle and i feel utterly lost. i don’t have much support here at school and i feel like very few people understand what it’s like to go through this. but i feel so lost and unprepared. the answer is, of course, to keep on trucking. beyond that, i’m hoping that someone out there can tell me that it’s possible to pull this off. i’ve been a mediocore student in medical thus far (though watch out world, once i get into the wards!). i’ve just barely squeezed by in my courses and now i find myself unable to break 50% on qbank. i completed a kaplan course several days ago and i’m now starting to study on my own. the plan is to spend an hour or two each morning doing qbook questions, spend six hours or so studying first aid (trying to make it all the way through) and then spend three hours or so a night doing qbank. i’ve done 25% of the questions and just don’t see improvement. i got the equivalent of a 160 on a practice usmle two weeks ago. can i do this? anyone have suggestions?
sincerely,
your very scared kelly

I’m taking the USMLE tomorrow and I’m having my own varieties of freakouts… but here’s a couple of things I wish I had done:
1. After taking QBank blocks, take some “incorrect” question blocks. Although your scores will be lower, consider that every one of those questions you get right is one you had got wrong before.
2. When you’re doing the review from QBank, sit there with your books and actually review the material–don’t just look at the answers like I did.
3. Don’t panic. (Easy to say. Hard to do. Still important.)
4. Beyond that, in terms of your chances re: this test, I have less perspective on that than anyone right now, so, hopefully others with more distance from this will be able to chime in!
Good luck Kelly. We’re rooting for you.
cheers
joe

Kelly,