nervous but excited!!!!

I just happened upon this site and love it! I am turning 38 next month and have had med school in the back of my mind since high school. I have a bachelor degree in psychology, a master degree in teaching and a master degree in school counseling. I am currently working as a school counselor. I enjoy my job, but cannot imagine doing this for the rest of my career! I have wanted to go to med school before, but the timing never seemed right… I had young children, my husband was finishing law school, etc.

For some reason this time it seems like the right time! I am so excited but very nervous about my age…

I am meeting with two different medical school admission counselors next week to go over my past transcripts and experience and get an idea from them what I need to take and where I should go from here…

Many of the questions I have are ones that I see on here…do I do my pre-reqs at a CC or a 4-year university? Do most people take loans out for their med school education? Am I too old?

Any thoughts or ideas that you think would be good to ask when I meet with these counselors would be greatly appreciated!

Welcome! Best of wishes on your meeting with the counselors. I hope you update us.

I’m curious, how did you find these medical school admissions counselors?

I went right to the medical schools’ websites and found the names of the admission counselors and emailed them with the request. Every one has said they would be happy to meet with me.

• clongstreet Said: