New and Looking for Advice

Hello Everyone!

I’m so glad I found this forum! It’s great to see others in the same situation sharing their stories and encouragement.

I’m looking for some advice as I begin my journey to become a physician. Here’s a little background. I graduated in 2007 (at age 24) with a BS in Environmental and Occupational Health. I have been working in safety/occupational health for 3 years, and I have come to realize that this is not for me. After much serious thought, I’ve realized that practicing medicine is a much better fit. So, now I’m 27 and looking to get into medical school. My grades were not stellar(3.097 GPA), so I know I will be retaking some classes. I have a few questions, and I would appreciate any advice.

While I was in college, I worked as a certified pharmacy technician for 3 years. Does this count toward clinical experience required to be accepted into med school? If not, should become a CNA, CMA, or EMT and get that work experience while retaking pre-reqs? Or, is volunteering at a hospital sufficient?

I did take some school loans out during college, but I didn’t take anywhere near the maximum allowed. Am I still eligible for federal student loans even though I have a degree?

Thanks!

Tisha

Hi Tisha, and welcome to OPM! I apologize that I cannot answer your specific questions … they fall out of my range of expertise so I will let other OPM’ers respond on those issues. I just wanted to extend a warm “hello.” And also to let you know that I have found this site SO helpful, and I hope you do as well.

P.S. If you search the forums, you may find answers to some of your questions. Just a suggestion. Take care, and best wishes to you on your journey!

Thanks for the warm welcome! I’m searching the forums and getting lots of good info.

• In reply to: