New from N. Louisiana

Hi,

I am happy to have found this forum. I have just turned 31 years old and I am a jr. In a private liberal arts college studying biology/premed. I’m a Navy veteran and divorced mom to 3 young kids. I plan my first attempt at the MCAT in January.

Just thought I’d introduce myself here. Most of my fellow classmates are 18-21 so I feel way out of the social loop. I’m hoping to keep my 3.5 gpa and do well on the MCAT. I’m going to look into getting some research or shadowing experience over the summer, I’m fairly ignorant on how I need to go about it, but I realize it will be a weak spot in my application if I don’t get proactive.

A

Welcome!! We are so glad to have you…thanks for making us a part of your journey, and please keep us posted on your progress.

Where are you from in N Louisiana? I actually grew up there! =) (Tiny little town… Oak Grove, close to Monroe.)

Hi, thanks! I’m in shreveport, though I’m originally from the Phoenix, az area. Depending on my mcat scores I’m thinking of applying to only instate schools, bc of tuition resident fees being cheaper.

I have been reading up on MSTP schools that cover tuition and it makes me wonder how competitive I could be. So many variables, plus three kids to raise.

My background is mostly foreign language and business, so I am unproven in higher sciences thus far. I am optimistic. Thanks for the welcome!

Ah…the OTHER side of North Louisiana! I lived a stone’s throw from Mississippi and Arkansas, right in the opposite corner from you. =)

I wouldn’t try to make comparisons or worry too much at this point. Just take it one class, one semester at a time, and see how it goes. Decide what you want to accomplish over each semester, bite it off, and get it done. Then, you move on to the next pile of stuff.

Eventually, you find yourself applying to school and wondering how it all came together.

You definitely have a lot on your plate–just breathe, and have fun!! Best of luck!