New Guy

Hi,

I don’t know if I qualify as an “old” doctor… but the people on here are some of the most helpful I’ve seen… So I signed up.

I’m 23 years old. I fell in love with medicine in the Fire Department where I was an EMT and I have since decided to pursue Pre-med. I have a previous BS in Networking Science with a CGPA of 3.74. I’m looking into the a Post Bacc program out here (Montana). I’m hoping to start next year ( I need to take Pre-calc this year).

The program takes Chem I and II and PHYS I and II durring the summer session. Does any one here have any experience with these types of programs?

Again, thank you all for your help.

Is there any reason why you want to do the MSU post-bacc? To my knowledge it doesn’t offer any linkages (which is sort of the appeal of doing a formal post-bacc in the first place.) Moreover, I don’t know if you need to go the formal route because your cGPA is pretty strong. I would suggest doing an informal math review this summer (read: just get a pre-calc textbook and work through it at your own speed) and then start your pre-reqs in the fall. You could conceivably do this:

2009/10: Bio 1/2 + Chem 1/2

Summer 2010: Physics 1 (and 2 if you’re feeling crazy)

2010/11: Orgo 1/2 + Physics 2

Spring 2011: MCAT

You would still apply for the same cycle but the course load would be lighter and you could still work part-time (free-time allowing, that is)

Just my $.02

Good luck

The advisor here said something about it being “A bit of a heavy load at first, which Med schools like to see as it proves you can perform under rigerous conditions.”

As far as the math goes, The last math I took was a while ago, and I need to bone up on Algebra and Pre calc (In preparation for PHYS I/II and Calc). Teaching myself Pre-calc won’t be an option. Re-teaching myself Algebra isn’t something I really want to do either.