New Here...and a question about timing..

Hello!

After searching around for quite some time, I decided to post here. I have some questions, and this board is definately one of the most mature and helpful sources of encouragement and information on pre-med for non-trads that I can find. This is a long post, essentially a copy of an email I sent to a doctor friend of the family a while ago. Any comments and advice would be greatly appreciated. The theme of the email is more “timing” based than a “what are my chances” type of thread. Background - I’m a naval officer, 27 yrs old.

By the way, the name’s Ryan.

I’ve often considered going to med school to become a doctor. In terms of specialty, I haven’t afforded that much thought in the past - but I know that I’ve wanted to practice medicine. I figured once in the pipeline, I would be able to more accurately gage what interested me. I haven’t given this endeavor my full strength because of timing: I still have 3 years and 6 days that I owe to Uncle Sam. I’ll be 30 when my military service is complete. So becoming a doctor has seemed more like an un-attainable dream than anything. With that in mind, I also like to argue. I have spent the past 4-5 amounts of years preparing to attend law school someday. This has more or less been a mental, “ramp-up” preparation than anything else. Studying from time to time for the LSATs, attending court hearings every now and then, and talking to various lawyers.