New Here - Please tell me I'm not crazy

I’m so glad I found this forum!!! I apologize for the lengthy post, but I’ve had no one to talk to about my dreams who understands.

I’m just beginning the journey to potentially attend med school. I’m 34, married, have a teenaged daughter, and a well paying job as a paralegal that sucks the life out of me.

I first attended college right out of high school, dropped out, joined the Army, dropped out of that due to pregnancy, and spent the next 8-10 years with my head firmly up my ass. My grades were terrible (I think I had a 2.5, but I have less than two years completed toward an Art degree), I had to take whatever job I could to support my daughter as a single parent. I basically lost 10 valuable years making ends meet.

Fast forward to today. I’m much more stable and mature, and finally in a position where I can focus on what I’ve always wanted to do: go into medicine.

I have taken two hard science classes to far, both with an A, and am feeling great about my abilities. I have devised a schedule of classes I feel I can handle while working full-time which will put me in a position to apply to med school in June of 2013, after having completed a BS in Public Health.

My husband is 110% behind me, and willing to take up the slack at home while I’m doing my prerequisites. My daughter will be out of high school and in college by the time I start med school. We’re willing to sell our house and relocate for med school if need be (we live in SoCal, and I know those schools are VERY competitive).

I think I can do this. I really do! I mean, I know I’m insane. But this is feasible, right?

I guess I’m just looking for some reassurance that this dream IS possible.

Thanks for reading.

Welcome.