New here...would like advice, please.

Hi there -

First of all, I’d like to tell you how grateful I am that this forum exists, because it gives me hope. Thank you.

My name is Beth, I’m a 35 year old married Mom to three kids (8,6 and 3). I’ve wanted to be a doctor since I was a kid, but was always afraid really “go for it”. I graduated in 1993 with a major in Economics, with a 3.1 GPA, mostly brought down by the Med Pre-Reqs I crammed in during my senior year (darn that organic and physics!)

I actually did take the MCAT in 1993 (7’s on the sciences - 10 in reading) but never actually applied - realizing it was unlikely that I would get in, and not feeling really “ready”. I retrospect, I think I lacked the maturity. After college, I worked in doctor’s offices, and then became a drug rep.

Then I got married, had children…and life goes on. Perhaps I thought I would “get over” this idea of becoming a doctor.

Now at 35, two things have happened: I realize I’m not getting “over it” and my husband’s business has reached a point where it is economically feasible for me to pursue this dream and afford help with the kids.

So here is my first question: I live in an area (45 mins outside of Syracuse) where there is no post-bacc program. I could pursue a second degree in biology to demonstrate aptitude and raise that GPA which would take about two years, full-time. Or, should I just re-take the pre-req’s and a few extras and not worry about the second bachelor’s?

I welcome your wise advice.

Thanks,

Beth

Hey Beth,