New kid on the block

Well, hello everybody! Happy to introduce myself. I am 48 years old and willing to pursue the dream of becoming a doctor to better serve others.

On the academics, I graduated with a Bachelor’s degree in Engineering from a foreign university and later received a Master’s degree in Physics at an American university.

My experience has been mainly in three areas. Research: academic and industrial. In both instances, heavily theoretical. Medical Physics: health physics, nuclear medicine and diagnostic radiology (on the Physics side of course), precisely the type of experiences that led me to reflect about wanting to pursue medical training. I also held a technical-executive position in South America, for one of the ‘three sisters’ of Oil & Gas service companies, mine was a three years tenure before it was time for me to get back to the States.

Now, as far as I have been able to understand, the application process to enter medical school is extremely complex, being composed of several stages or phases. Also is very specific as to the type of human resources that they want to recruit in order to produce a high quality graduate and practitioner to support the health system.

Also the prerequisites are narrow and specific. And here begins the story: