new member; first post

Hello everyone,

First of all, I am 47 years old, so the rest of you seem like youngsters to me!

I’m sitting on the sunporch at beautiful Lake Crescent Lodge in western Washington, looking out at the sparkling lake and rugged mountains, thinking that I’d better enjoy this now because if I actually put my plan into action, these vacations may become a thing of the past.

I live in the Seattle area (Bainbridge Island) with my airline pilot husband, two kids, 13 and 8, and various animals.

I have told almost no one about this dream because I suspect they’ll think to themselves, “Oh, sure, and I’m going to become an astronaut!”

I got a B.S. in Aeronautics in the mid-eighties and worked my way up from being a flight instructor to becoming a Delta Air Lines pilot. It was a tough road for a young women in the eighties (I was hired in '86), so I have experienced adversity in many forms. My GPA from college was about 3.85, and I graduated with honors and distinction.

After a few years with the airline, my husband and I decided to start a family (an interesting experience in itself, because no Delta pilot had ever been pregnant!). After researching and ultimately writing a maternity policy for pilots, and flying only during the safe middle trimester (high altitude radiation), I finally went home to enjoy my pregnancy. Two days later, after a routine ultrasound, we discovered that our son was single-ventricle. Extremely long story later, our son died at two months of age.

I didn’t go back to work at that point because flying for the airline took more strength than I had. In trying to have a family, I had five miscarriages and two successful pregnancies over an eight year period. By the time I felt ready to go back to work, it was too late, my having been off the seniority list for too long.