new member intro

Hello All!
I thought I would just lurk for a while, but I find myself compelled to introduce myself. I am so very inspired by all that I have read. I have done a pretty good job of giving myself all of the reasons why I could never become a doctor at my age. You all are taking my excuses away! Thank you!
I’m starting from the very bottom rung. I graduated high school in 1983 (not very good grades-- lazy or something), wasn’t interested in college then (immature? confused? ADD?). But, of course, I had to do something, so I enlisted in the Army. Did my time, got married, lots of pregnancies (5 births) and have been a homeschooling, attachment parenting, Army wife ever since (okay, my husband retired from the Army Jan 2001 and is in his second career). I haven’t taken a single course at any college or university, but I have learned a lot over these years as career mom – mostly about myself. I do not regret the years I have spent taking care of my family (and will continue to spend… baby is 5… fyi, the others are 18, 16, 10, & 7, boy, boy, girl, girl, girl). I definitely know about sleep deprived and stamina, so I figure I’m pre-qualified for some of this journey!
I think I had a lot of trouble believing that I was “smart enough” to do anything as intense as medicine, but I now realize that *1) I am sure I am smart enough, and *2) if I’m wrong, I won’t make it, but will have the satisfaction of going for it. My husband is very supportive and teases me about his second retirement … when I’m bringin’ home the bacon. He’s dreaming about his Jag right now…
I am going to be a frequent visitor of this site to learn, learn, learn about what I need to do when and how and to get huge doses of support for the times of frustration or self-doubt. I’ve already learned quite a bit and I am thrilled to have found this group. I never would have imagined that I would have found a place that made me feel like I wasn’t nuts for doing this. THANK YOU!!
sue~