New member - please help!!!

Dear all,

I am new to this website and I have to say: I am realy impressed with the little community thriving here. With that being said, let me tell you about myself.

I am a thirty-six-years-old female. I graduated from UC Berkeley in 2005 with majors in Microbiology and Molecular and Cell Biology, emphasis in Immunology. Prior to that, I attended a community college. I have to admit that it took me six years to finish school because not only did I have to work through my college years almost full time, but also had to learn English as a first generation immigrant, who came to the U.S. at the age of twenty-three (one of the best things that have ever happened to me). My cumulative GPA is 3.76; my science GPA is 3.66; my Berkeley GPA is 3.449; my community college GPA is 3.75; my MCAT score, taken in April 2005, was 28P (8 VR, 10 BIO, 10 SCI). I have volunteered in the hospital for almost a year and a half–six months in a children’s surgery center and currently in NICU–but have never shadowed a doctor. I have applied to med. schools twice–once in 2005 and the second time in 2006–no luck. It’s funny, I should probably give up on med. school, but that’s not at all the case. I want to apply this year again, but I have doubts. It’s not that I doubt myself, but I feel like my career aspiration is not on par with the reality of the world we live in from a thirty-six-year-old female.

Please help me with your advice. Should I apply; should I go for a master’s program first; do I have any chances left for me to apply to med. shcool again or am I too old as a female applicant? What should I do differently to be a successful applicant?

Thanks in advance for your answers.

• tiha

Hi, Tiha.

First off, welcome to the community! Hopefully you will find both answers and support as you work towards your goal.

Second, you absolutely are NOT too old, male or female.