New Member Saying Hello

Howdy All,

I come from a forum where introduction threads illicit calls for a ban, so this is new for me

I’m a 2005 graduate from the Univ. of Maryland’s Smith Business School. I had a whopping 3.352 cumulative GPA and graduated with an honors citation for completing their Honors program. Since graduation I’ve traveled a good bit (I’m heading down to Jamaica for June to visit my gf and help her with some volunteer work. She’s been doing good deeds down there since August 2007), worked as a consultant in both the private sector and federal government, volunteered in my local ED, and worked as a volunteer EMT with Montgomery County Fire Rescue.

Unfortunately it took me until after I graduate with my Logistics degree to figure out that I want to heal people for a living, but I guess it’s better late than never. I’ve re-enrolled at Maryland for the fall semester and will be taking Chem 1, Physics 1, and Bio 1. It’s going to be a long ~2 year road, but I’m looking forward to it. I’ve already planned out all of my classes

I hope that I can make myself a competitive applicant for medical school. I would absolutely love to go to Maryland’s medical school. They have arguably the best trauma center in the country in Baltimore, and EM is what I’m leaning toward right now, though I am not going to pigeonhole myself this early.

Anyway, I just wanted to pop in and say hello. I’m sure I will have a million questions over the next couple of years, so this won’t be the last you’ll hear from me. I look forward getting to know all of you. Hopefully, in the future, it will be me replying to threads like this with juicy nuggets of wisdom. Until then, Peace!

P.S. Feel free to offer some bits of encouragement, as the thought of taking out college loans is an extremely daunting prospect for me