New OPM Member Seeking Guidance Support

I’ve been reading numerous OPM postings recently, and I finally felt inspired to post my own message with the hope of receiving some much needed guidance and support. I apologize in advance for the length of this message, and I’m very grateful to thoughs of you who take the time to read my message and post a response.
First, some relevant background information…I’m 30 years old, and I’m strongly considering applying to medical school - something I had planned to do all throughout college, but never actually did. I was a neuroscience major at an Ivy League university, and completed all the pre-med course requirements. My academic performance during my Freshman and Sophomore years was average-to-mediocre, but it improved dramatically during my Junior and Senior years. While in college, I conducted basic science and clinical research, worked extensively in a clinical setting, and was even published in JAMA.
When I graduated college, I decided to take what I thought would be one year off before applying to medical school. During that year I worked in the emerging technologies group at a prominent academic medical center. As part of my job, I worked with numerous physicians, several of whom strongly discouraged me from applying to medical school. As an impressionable 22-year old, this message started to make me question my intended course of action.
At this same time, I started to become very interested in computing and the Internet, which was just starting to become a commercially interesting phenomenon. This further confused me about my career objectives, because, for the first time, I felt passionate about another field.