New pre-med military spouse/veteran

Hi everyone, I’m very excited to be apart of this forum! I’m just starting my medical journey, and I know I’m going to have a lot of questions, and I’m hoping this group will help

I am a 29 year old female veteran. I graduated from one of the service academies and did 6 years as an officer in the military. I got out with the expectation to land a great job in the corporate world. Looked around tried a few things and nothing was appealing. I did a long time of soul searching while trying to find the right fit, and realized that I am drawn to helping, healing and mentoring people. I’m specifically interested in functional medicine and Endocrinology.

I was a two sport NCAA D1 athlete at the academy, and my focus was definitely not on my grades. I majored in political science/international relations, to ease the course work. I missed 3 out of 5 days of school a week due to traveling with athletics. And, in those young years, I didn’t spend what little extra time I had studying. My first two years weren’t great, and junior and senior year I did better but was trying to dig myself out of the hole I got myself into from the years before. I ended with a measly 2.55 gpa.

In the military I did great and ranked at the top of my peers. I have confidence that I will be able to do well in my pre-med course. But, I’m worried that my academic history will haunt me close some doors. I know people say it’s your recent grades that count the most, but I need 65 credit hours with straight A’s to raise it to a 3.0…I did good in physics, but I have to retake chem1 and 2, and take all the other pre-med courses(ochem, biochem, bio1 bio2, and possibly some extras like physiology and anatomy).

I have been accepted to school initially as a post baccalaureate non-degree seeking student to start my pre-med courses in summer school. Are there any pros/cons with being a non-degree? The GI Bill will ony cover 2 years being a non-degree declared student…