New to boards

Hi, thank you all for making this board possible. New here and introducing myself. I am a young 45 y/o female, single with no kids, who has always dreamed of being a doc but for financial and cultural reasons put the dream aside. I currently have good credit but only a few thousand in savings, and a well paying job of 3 years.

I would like to know from anyone who, or knows someone who is, going through the med school application process, whether they think my age will be a big deterrent in being accepted, even if I have good grades. I majored in pre-med courses with a 4.0 GPA twenty years ago and am still due to take more undergraduate pre-med courses.

I am aware that the debt from med and undergrad school can very high upon graduation and unfortunately physician salaries are not large enough to ensure fast loan payoff. I am not in this for the money but am realistic about the importance of financial security.

I am very much interested in cardiac surgery but not sure how open the field is for women and, having been told how grueling a residency can be (as are all surgical residencies), I am looking to hear from anyone with information in this area. At this time I am preparing to find a surgeon/physician to shadow, a process I have also just been made aware of and am unfamiliar with.

I would love to be able to attend the POP convention, will see if I can make it.

Okay, I just lost everything I just typed…ugh!!! But to suffice it to say…NO, 45 is not too old (I sure hope not, I’m 44). Having a good GPA, you’ll only need a good MCAT…those are the only numbers that will really count. If you don’t have good numbers, it doesn’t matter how old you are…you’ll have a tough time getting in.