New to Forum and In need of advice

04-14-09 09:41 PM - Post#59419

Hello everyone this is my first time posting and I am in need of serious advice. I graduated from undergrad with a BA in Biology and approximately a 2.66 GPA. My grades in BCPM

Bio I/Lab C-C

Bio II/Lab D-C retake class B

Chem I/Lab D-C+ retake Class C

Chem II/Lab D-C retake Class C+

Organic I/Lab WP-A retake Class C

Organic II/Lab C-B

Physics I/Lab A-A

Physics II/Lab C-A

Calculus I WF retake C- retake C

Okay I will admit to being a very lazy student with no clearly defined goals and highly questionable priorities. The sad part I continued on into grad school (MPH) with the same mentality and finished with around a 3.00. Point blank I should not have been in school at the time.

Moving on I am now years older and thank GOD years wiser and would like to apply to med school but don’t have a clue as to how I could redeem myself academically enough to prove that I am capable and what if anything can be done to overcome my past extremely mediocre academic performance. Any advice would be appreciated.

Also I am considering emailing somone on the admissions committee at my local school for advice. Is this a wise choice?

Thank You

My bet is from reading everyone else’s advice in the past is they will tell you to retake and prove that you can do better. If it is your dream, then go for it!

Retake all the sciences and get nothing less than A!!!

It probably won’t bring your GPA to above 3.00, so most of MD schools will be out of you reach, but osteopathic schools ‘replace’ your old grades with the new ones, so you should have a shot there.

I was given very good advice from a college counselor specializing in pre-med students. Here is what she told me:

1. get a REALLY high score on the MCAT’s

2. do a lot of volunteer work in medical related field

3. get fantastic letters of recommendation from your professors.