New to OPM, Glad to be here and already have a guidance question!

Hello!

My name is Hutch and I have been reading around the site for a while, loved all of the information and figured I would join up. I am currently 27 and in the military, getting out in 2012 with a return to school, and hopefully an application to medical school shortly thereafter. I received my BS in 2007 and spent 2008 taking pre-reqs, then did a shoddy attampt at an application in 2009 that yielded no success. I joined the military in 2010 and have loved it, but wake up every day longing for medicine.

I have been a paramedic for several years and worked in a trauma center for most of those. I am from Texas and intend on pursuing a Masters in Biology prior to the application in order to get back in the swing of school and prove my academic worth! Glad to be on a site with like minded individuals and looking forward to hopefully contributing at some point! Here are my (less than stellar) stats:

Overall GPA 3.0

Science GPA 3.0

MCAT 23O

Here is the plan as of yet: Masters in Biology, Re-Take the MCAT, and re-apply. I am confidant that I will have much better GPA success as well as MCAT success due to the GI Bill allowing me to “only” got to school for the first time in my life. I am not here to make excuses, I earned every grade I ever received, but it will be nice to not work two jobs and attempt a decent course load.

Here is where my question comes in: would it be more beneficial to pursue a second bachelors in a science field in order to boost both the overall and science GPA, or pursue the masters in Biology? I would rather pursue the Masters as it is geared towards individuals applying to medical school and I like the set up of the program, however I have been getting mixed results from the adcoms I have contacted.

Anybody been in a similar situation and chose one option or the other … and can comment on their outcome?

Thanks all!

• whitecoatoneday Said:
Hello!