New to the forum

I’m a total newbie to much of this and figured I’d introduce myself. I’m almost too new at this to have questions but I wanted to start somewhere. I’m hoping that someone else reading this might alert me to what I need to be thinking about as I get underway in this exciting process.
I’m 44 years old and have spent most of my career in product marketing of technology products, primarily electronic design automation software. I’m divorced and am the father of three children – my daughter will be a college sophomore, my older son is starting college this fall and a younger son will be a high school junior who’s bound for college as well. My daughter professes to be pre-med and my older son is absolutely determined to go to med school.
My BS and MS degrees are in mechanical engineering and I was content in my career till my late thirties, but then I started to feel rather unfulfilled – I began to realize that there’s more to life than developing software that helps someone design a better cell phone or radar station. I liked the technical aspects of my job and the problem solving in particular, but I began to feel like I could be doing something more for the betterment of society.
About 4-5 years ago things changed for me … two of my children were diagnosed with serious though treatable chronic illnesses. This threw me into experiencing the medical field in a way that I hadn’t before. At the same time I was dating a pediatrician so I got to see the field of medicine from her standpoint as well. I began to see that the medical field was one that I could identify with personally and began to see it as one that aligned much better with my personal desires for my career. But with the financial demands of my children’s college education looming, I dismissed the idea of going into medicine out of hand. It wasn’t till earlier this year that I began to see the possibilities of going back to school and began to research what’s involved.