New to the Site, its good to find a Non-Trad geared site

Hi. I’m a 26 year old professional currently attending law school in DC at GULC. I entered law school as it seemed to be the right fit for my life, based on my current occupation and the fact that I am able to go without incurring much (if any) debt.

However, deep down I have always been drawn to medicine. I took an EMT-B course in college, did some volunteer work in a hospital, but never really made anything of it since my BA is in the liberal arts.

Now I am in law school and realizing I really do not like what lawyers do. Law school is interesting, but the process is miserable (although I’m sure medical school isn’t much fun either). One thing is certain, though, is that I don’t really want to be a LAWYER and that is why I think so many lawyers hate their jobs… Many end up in the profession by default.

Anyway, I’m currently looking into post-bac programs around here, as well as Goucher and Bryn Mawr, Hopkins, and others that would require up and moving. I just feel like it is a big risk to leave what I currently have, leave law school, and take on thousands of debt for a post-bac program in order to pursue my dream.

Any input or advice is appreciated. I noticed there are a few lawyers on here, maybe there are a few law students contemplating leaving as well, who knows? Either way, your input is appreciated.

Well, the first thing is that if your undergrad grades are good, you don’t have to do a formal post-bacc to apply to med school. You may be able to get a job and take your require prerequisite courses one or two at a time so you don’t rack up additional debt before applying to med school. I hope a former attorney will drop by and help you out with your larger question.

Welcome to OPM!

Hey Gooble,