New today!

Hi, I’ve been an RN for about 14 years now and want to finish my BS degree. (I have a AA degree in Nursing now). I have the burning desire now to go to Medical school. I currently practice as a Hospice RN. I have volunteered for Boy Scouts for about 8 years, I have gone to a camp for Hospice Kids as a volunteer for the past 2 years, I have practiced in infusion therapy and trauma nursing. My only worry is my age, 39.
I can become a Doctor if I can get into med school. My plan is a 3 year
residency in family medicine then off to practice in a rural area. I don’t much care about where. I don’t care where I go to school either.
I have a burning desire to do this and spend 25 years practicing.
My wife is 101% behind me.
Any comments?

My first comment is “go for it” - of course you can do this! When you note you’ve got an AA in nursing and that you want to get your BS, do you mean that you think you should complete the BS in nursing? Because it sounds like you are achieving everything you could want to as a nurse - and what you next want to do is go to medical school. A BS in nursing isn’t really the best pathway for going into medicine; you do need to complete a bachelor’s degree but it can be in whatever you’d like to major in. You’re likely to have more freedom to complete your med school prerequisites in another major. You won’t have to “hide” your aspirations from a nursing school advisor (sounds ridiculous but it has happened to OPMs who were in nursing school - they got a lot of hostility from nursing school folks).
I recognize that one attraction for the BSN might be that it would take less time to complete the bachelor’s work than it would in another field. However, if you have to augment your BSN studies with the science courses required for applying to med school (which are usually NOT the same level as the science courses for nursing school), you may find that the time savings is insignificant or eliminated.