Newbie #3 introduction

Hi everyone. I’ll just echo what I’ve read from the last two “newbies” and say that it was incredible to find this site after spending a lot of time contemplating if this is the right thing to do.
I am currently a teacher and am looking to start with some review classes this summer to try to get the brain back into student mode. Then hopefully this fall I’ll begin with the pre-med required courses.
Does anyone have any advice as far as going back to a 4 year and just getting the prereq courses versus doing some other type of program? I have seen a lot of people referencing post-bacc programs. I think I’m missing something.
Thanks to the owners of this site and to those who created it. I’m looking forward to getting to know many of you!
Larry

Welcome aboard! As I see it, if your undergrad grades are good and if you want to keep working while you’re in school AND the university near you has evening classes, taking a course or two at a time is a great way to go. You’re going to rack up enough debt in med school without going full time to school now.
On the other hand, if time is of the essence, or if you have lower undergrad grades to overcome, or want the support and formality of a formal post-bacc program, they’re worth looking at.
This is my two-second synopsis, and worth about the time I’ve put into it, but it can get you started thinking about this. I’m a librarian, and I took my first course working around my schedule. I cut back to 80% in July and took a summer chemistry course (two afternoons of lab), took 1st semester O-chem and biology in the fall, and am taking just 2nd semester o-chem with its TWO mornings of lab right now. I’ll take physics and biology in the fall, and finish off physics and take the MCAT next spring.