Newbie intro & Questions

Hey everyone, been lurking for a bit and listening to the podcasts. Figured I’d pop in to introduce myself as well as ask for some general advice.

I’m a non traditional student in my late 20s. I attempted college for two semesters when I was 18 and I left with a 1.8GPA and feelings of disillusion with the whole academic system. I worked several odd jobs and eventually became a paramedic, and have been working full time in EMS for just under 7 years now. I had a job as an ER tech in a hospital which sparked my interest in pursuing medicine. I returned to college two years ago after a gap of 5 years and have only 6 classes left. I’ve done OK as a student and have a 3.1 overall GPA (including the not-so-great early stuff) and project I’ll be in the ballpark of a 3.15-3.2 when I’m done. I’ve started studying for the MCAT which I’ll take next winter/early spring. Outside of class I’ve been working nights/weekends full time 36-48 hrs/wk, teaching EMT classes for 4 years, and I’ll be an official tutor for organic chemistry next semester. I have some physician shadowing lined up for later in the summer and will be joining a victims assistance/grief counseling organization as a volunteer in the fall. I’m currently a psychology major.