Hi Everyone!
What a great site! I will be 30 in October and it is great to see that there is a place to come and ask questions and get inspired.
I graduated in 1997 with a theatre degree and have been acting/singing/dancing professionally ever since. I have always loved the sciences, but my parents never encouraged me (yeah right! you, miss artsy-fartsy, a doctor? Ha!!) Well, finally I am taking my prerecs to apply to med school. At first, I went to nursing school for a semester and found that what I really want to be is a doc… I have taken Bio 1, Chem 1,2 and will take org 1 and physics 1 this fall. So far, I have all A’s, but we’ll see about Org sad.gif .
My UGPA was only a 3.36, so I am a bit worried about that. I am hoping my post-bacc grades will compensate.
I am a little scared about this. It is a huge risk and I am so nervous about the MCAT. Any words of inspiration??

Hey Actresstodoc,
It sounds like you are on the riight track. I too am in the middle of taking pre-reqs. I'm another one taking physics and organic this fall and spring. You can't do anything about your undergrad GPA so there is no sense stressing about it. As you alluded to, just keep hammering on the pre-reqs and do your best. When you have time look for some shadowing experiences and maybe some volunteer work in a health care area or even some research. On another note, when are you planning on taking the MCAT? Gen Bio 2? Applying? Just curious. Good luck this semester! I truly will be feeling your pain.

Welcome to OPM! I wouldn’t worry about your undergrad grades too much. You can’t change the past…only the future and since you have all A’s on your prereqs so far, I’m sure adcoms will notice this. smile.gif Don’t let anyone ever tell you can’t do anything either. Only you can decide that.
Good luck!
Love,
Stacy
P.S. Your undergrad GPA is higher than mine! (And probably a lot of other people’s too…)