Hello Everyone,

I’ve been a nurse for more than 20 years and after much thought I am interested in beginning pre-med studies this summer at the Age of 41 any ideas on how to proceed will be appreciated. I live in the DC.MD.VA.area I wanted to apply to a formal post-bacc program but am ineligible because I have not taken the GRE, to prepare and take the test and apply for the next start date June 2008 would put me a year behind. Does anyone recommend taking the GRE as a precurser to the MCAT.

Next because I absolutely positively have to work during pre-med studies,I am considering the science in the evening program at the University of MD below is a listing of courses offered for optimal MCAT preparation

One year of general chemistry: CHEM131/132 and CHEM271/272 in the new chemistry curriculum at UM

One year of organic chemistry: CHEM231/232 and CHEM241/242 at UM

A minimum of three semesters of biology:

BSCI105, BSCI230, and BSCI440 at UM

One year of physics: PHYS121 and PHYS122 at UM

Any of the following additional optional courses to round out and enhance your knowledge:

BSCI223 General Microbiology

BSCI424 Pathogenic Microbiology

BSCI422 Immunology

BSCI436 Drug Action and Design

BCHM463 Biochemistry for physiologists. Note this course is NOT offered in SIE at this time. However, it can be helpful for MCAT preparation and some SIE students may be able to register for our daytime offering or at another institution.

Any other upper level BSCI courses in our daytime offerings. Does anyone have any suggestions on a possible schedule that would allow me to take the MCAT Spring 2008. If this is unreasonable please don’t hesitate to say so. I want to rush things and do extremely well at the same which might not be feasible. Also, if anyone has any alternative suggestions they would be appreciated. Thank you in advance for your assistance.

PS Thanks Mary for your suggestions!

Welcome SP

Glad you’re interested in medicine and welcome to the club!