No family support

I am 38 years old and turning another year older in March. I have talked about med school for several years now but never got the ok from my wife who says that I’m a CPA and need to continue it. We have two kids. As it happens I’m unemployed now and going to school seems like a good time now but noooo says my wife. I read a lot about people having self doubts but everybody seems to have family support. Any ideas as to what I can do to obtain support?

When it comes to marriage it takes two to tango. That goes for the decision making process as well. Can’t do it without her on board - med school is tough as it is w/o the stresses of a personal relationship in trouble!

Maybe try and talk to your wife and ask her what she would do if the tables were turned. My husband is generally supportive of me and med school but he doesn’t really want me to apply outside of my home state (California). I said…I would move anywhere if it was him needing to move to accomplish his dream. I said, it’s just a few years. Just my .2 cents. Good luck

we have all been there. This is nothing new. Most of the time, it is due to fear and uncertainty. Bring her to this website and let her know that it has been done. And if possible, see if you both can make it to the next conference so she knows what to expect.

My husband got on board, but it took a lot of time to assure him that this was not a whim. I spoke to counselors and premed academic advisors, and spent months discussing it with him. When he realized how serious I was, he became incredibly supportive.

Spousal support is essential and non-optional. As a woman, I would receommend you sit her down and ask her with sincerity and earnestness what her concerns and fears are, and what you could do to gain her support for the idea. This is the most important thing to do.