No Longer Hiding

I have been reading the forums on and off for 2 years. I spent a great deal of time deciding if I should work towards a PA program or DO. I decided on PA. So, here I am hoping to apply to medical school. (Seem confusing?)

I realized the PA program was not the “dream” it was the compromise.

I am 37 years old. My undergrad GPA is mediocre. It was about a 3.0, should be higher, but I haven’t calculated it. My last 40 credits have been at about a 3.8 (if I include current courses.) I have not taken Org or Physics, but my current science GPA is 4.0. I have 12 credits at a 4.0 in grad school, but they are business courses. I am taking my pre-reqs at the community college. I have read all of the comments about community colleges.

I was considering applying to DO programs next year, and enrolling in the UMDNJ SOM Biomed MS as a hedge, at the same time.

I was an Air Force medic, when I was younger. I am currently a volunteer EMT averaging 800 hours per year. I have done per diem work in hospital. I am also involved in emergency communications in my county, and have organized community events, like a fall prevention presentation at one of the 55 and over communities. I have many FEMA courses in emergency management.

Initially, I decided that I did not want to try for med school and finish a residency at 50. After further thought, I realized I crave the education I will get in med school and I want to practice medicine. I don’t care much about being rich. I just want to be a Dr. I actually want to help people, and feel challenged in my career. (That is not happening in my current life as an accountant.)

Ok, there is my intro!

-Lou

Welcome and good luck, Lou!!