No-Trad Pre-Med advice on mental health

Hi, I am Alexis I am an advanced emergency medical technician (AEMT). I have been in EMS since I was 17 and have been doing it for over five years now. I was planning on staying in EMS because I didn’t feel qualified to become an MD but have decided I am going to go for it. But the question I have is that I have obtained some mental health diagnoses in the last several years that have come to light since being in EMS. While I have gotten the treatment that I need and have started to be on the other side of it. I feel there is a stigma that I won’t be able to maintain my mental health and continued to care for myself while working towards my Pre Med. I was wondering if anyone else has any advice on this topic of mental health and making sure that you don’t slip backward while going forwards with your pre-med journey. The diagnosis has been present since I was a child but only within the last three years gotten help. I worked several twenty-four-hour shifts in a row due to finances and personal situations which probably only help to create the perfect storm to require me to obtain help. But I have learned that in order to take care of others I have to take care of myself first. But does anyone have any advice on how to maintain your mental health and keep from having any relapses while working towards medical school?

Hi,
I’m happy you figured so much out and have gotten useful help that has led you to a healthier place. With that, I am happy that you’ve learned to take care of yourself, which is actually my advice. I know, it probably sounds like a paradox, so I’ll try to do my best to explain what I mean.