Non-Traditional Physician Assistant (PA) Strategy

Hi!

I’ve searched the forum, and since I didn’t find a discussion, I thought I would start one here. I’m new to OPM, presently a full-time working professional considering going back to school for pre-med studies. Presently developing a plan to either quit and go back to school full-time in a formal post-bacc at a 4-year university, or attend evening community college classes at the CC nearby. I’m leaning toward pursuing the Physician Assistant (PA) route vice the MD route. Is anyone else on this forum looking at PA school? If so, if farther along, how did you obtain the health care experience hours (HCE) required if you were also working full-time? I presently work in Finance and get paid well. Consequently, taking a $10/hour EMT job for a few years seems kind of crazy. Ultimately, though, I want to change paths. Anyone make a switch from the business world to the PA world? What was your strategy?

• Many of the PA schools require 2,000 hours of health care experience, shadowing PAs and Doctors etc. Looking to brainstorm with everyone on the most effective path to PA school while also being a working professional. Hope this post makes sense and is useful to the community.

MD student here, but PA school was something I considered. Part of what ruled it out for me was those health care experience hours. In order to obtain those hours in a reasonable amount of time, I would have had to quit a good-paying job for about a year or so to work for near minimum-wage. It was either that, or work every weekend for several years. When I considered that against one more year of school, it made more sense to me to spend 4 years in MD school versus 2.5 in PA school, plus one year or more fulfilling the reqs. With the time commitment being roughly similar, MD was more appealing.