Non-traditional Pre-Med. Need advice.

Hi, how are you? my name is Jae in Philadelphia and I’m preparing the MCAT for this spring. I need some advice for the medical school application because my situation is non-traditional. I would really appreciate any comment from you.

I’ve been a scientist (with Ph.D. in molecular biology) for quite some time and it has become quite clear to me that a career as a basic scientist will be something less than fulfilling. I am drawn more and more to the clinical aspects of my work and science in general. Through much introspection, I’ve realized that medicine is my real calling and that it’s time for a career change.

My major concern is being an applicant with foreign degrees. I got my college, master, and PhD from South Korea. However, I am a green card holder and plan to stay in the US long-term. It would be ideal for me to attend a US medical school. As I’m sure you know, many medical schools require only US or Canadian college degrees. Some schools accept students with foreign degrees but ask for at least one full year of science courses in US accredited universities. so now I have enrolled in the PENN Liberal & Professional Studies (LPS) program and am taking several science courses to cover the prerequisites asked for by most programs. But still I am not sure how much possibility I have for getting in a medical school.

I am hoping to get your insights on the strengths and weaknesses of my candidacy based upon my current situations.

Thank you.