Non-traditional pre-med student

My name is Joshua, and I am a non-traditional pre-med student (in that I have been working through a regionally accredited distance education college - TESC) and have no pre-health advisor (other than my dad who is an osteopathic physician in the Air Force - ATSU/KCOM grad), so I have some major questions as to if I’m doing this right!!!

A little background of my education, first.

I started off as a business major and took 72 credits worth of CLEP and DANTES tests, which include 6+ credits in English and 6 in Social Sciences along with 3 credits of Precalc and 3 of Stats. This is only a very small portion of the 72 credits, but the ones med schools tend to emphasize out of gen ed courses. First question would be, will the exams hurt me at all? I passed them all and did quite well, in fact, on each of them.

I switched majors to Biology after I found I REALLY enjoyed studying the subject and wanted to look at medicine as a career. I’ve been working almost entirely on my own to prepare for med school and it’s been tough, as I’m sure you can imagine.

Currently, I’ve taken a full year of General Biology (w/lab) at Old Dominion University in Norfolk, VA and a full year of General Chemistry (w/lab) online (which was a tough course) through Oklahoma University. Grades: Gen Bio - 1st sem A, 2nd sem A; Gen Chem - 1st sem A, 2nd sem B. I intend to take the first semester of Physics in the spring of '09 (most likely at a CC just because they’re the only ones offering it), second in the fall (hopefully at a better college), and also Organic Chem in the summer (killer, I know, but I have a doctor friend who did it!).

I’ve applied and am preparing to begin volunteer work with a hospital nearby. I’m supposed to volunteer for 25 hours and then have a chance to compete for an Emergency Room scribe position. I’ve shadowed one doc for a day, other than my dad, so far.