Nontradtional madness

Hi all! I’m 32 and embarking on actually pursuing this dream that I’ve had for many years. Looking at my current state of affairs and comparing it to all the med school requirements, I’m feeling a little intimidated and discouraged already. I could definitely use some feedback and insight from you, my fellow OPMs. Here’s my dilemma:

I studied music at an accredited 4-year college, that used narrative grading. This school also did not have any core required classes. In other words, I don’t have any science or math whatsoever and no GPA. What I do have are written evaluations and a pass/fail notation

I am registered at my local comm coll and will be taking Gen Chem I, Human Anatomy & Physiology I, and Gen Psychology this upcoming semester. Also, I will be entering into an EMT training class and am currently working as a medical assistant in a local clinic.

In terms of my outside experience, I have a lot of experience working with the homeless on the streets of NYC. I also am very involved in church and play several instruments. I guess my point is that I’m fairly well-rounded.

Here are my questions:

1. Do I continue to just take classes at community college?

2. Do I enroll in a post-bacc? Even that will be difficult for me to get in, it seems like because of the nature of my undergrad work.

3. Do I create DIY post-bacc at a 4-year institution?

HELP!..please and thank you

Hello! And welcome!

We all know that a 4 year institution is looked at more favorably than a community college. And joining an official post bacc is even better, as you would have some guidance and a post bacc committee recommendation letter.However, a community college will get you where you want to be if you set your mind to it and do your best.

There are people in this forum that got accepted into MD programs with CC prerequisites.