NP applying to med school

Hello there. I am a 30-year-old family nurse practitioner who plans to apply to medical school and (hopefully) matriculate in 2010.

I have a BA in English (2000), a BS in Nursing(2004) and several years of volunteer experience: in high school at a Canadian hospital and the Red Cross, and later for a student-run organization that provided free medical care at a homeless shelter. I took Physics I-II, Chemistry I-II, and Calculus I in 1996 but my B-/C+ average in these classes prompted me to change majors. I took Anatomy & Physiology I-II and Microbiology about 4 years ago as a requirement for nursing school and ended up with a 3.75 when I graduated. My understanding and interest in diseases has increased significantly now that I have a practical application for the information. (I finished my MSN in 2006).

I read medical journals weekly and bring books on pharmacology and pathology with me when I visit the in-laws. I am aware every day of my knowledge deficit and lack of adequate training to properly handle more complex cases. I feel a bit cheated in that we did not have the advantage of a residency program and my courses seemed too much like broad summaries. It is for this reason that I have decided to go to medical school after deferring it for so long.

I’m a California resident and according to the admissions officers at UC Davis and UCSF, so long as you have completed the requirements, it does not matter when they were taken.

I’m planning to take Organic Chemistry I-II in the Fall 08/Spring 09 semesters in addition to Genetics and Biochemistry.

After reading that UCSF receives 6500 applications and admits 140, I am feeling a bit queasy.

Do you think that it is necessary to repeat Physics and General Chemistry? My most recent science grades and all of my nursing courses were all in the A/B range.

Do you have any other suggestions or advice for me?

Hey,