NP needs advice!

Hi. I have been a family nurse practitioner for about 10 years. I love what I do, but whenever I consult with an MD, I am always left with the thought that I should have gone to medical school. It is actually more than that…it is the feeling, or rather the desire to know much more than I do now, but realizing that without the intense training of medical school, no amount of reading is ever going to get me to that point.

Why I didn’t go is another story. Briefly…parents who not only did not encourage higher learning, but rather discouraged it, and despite good grades (skipping 7th grade, honors courses in high school), only wanted for me to get a “good job as a clerk typist in the post office with good benefits and a pension”. Any time I tried to bring up going away to college, my father (who was a gambler) refused to allow me to take loans out. Since I graduated high school at the ripe old age of 16, who was I to argue? In any case, after I got my first job as a secretary at a place with tuitiion reimbursement, I started taking courses. To make a long story very short, my first bachelors was in veterinary science. I decided several years later to go to school to become an NP. Even as I was attending nursing school, I was thinking, “I really should be going to medical school” Then life happened…married, kids, etc. My husband and I had many heart to heart talks about my upbringing, and how I really should have been a doctor. Now that my youngest will be entering kindergarted next year, I have decided to apply. I have many pre-reqs to take (many of which I have already taken, but are too old for the med schools to accept) and am signed up for bio and chem for the fall.

Here’s the dilemna…I’m 44, and won’t be able to even start med school until about 47. The two docs I have asked for advice so far have told me that I’m crazy. One of them actually told me that she wishes she were an an NP!

Question…am I crazy???