NP student frustrated.

Hello all, I’m in my 1st semester of NP school at Duke. Prior to starting i had given a lot of thought to finishing up pre-reqs for med school, and even thought about going to a post-bacc program. i decided against it, though, because i thought i had to take the opportunity provided. afterall, i could always fall back on this degree (ACNP), right? well, now that i’m in the program i have gotten really discouraged w/ the whole “nursing” profession. i’ve found that a lot of the content is redundant from what i learned in undergrad and i’m not being taught as in depth as i think we should be. ya know, considering i’m going to be responsible for lives and all.

i feel this profession puts too much emphasis on irrelevant coursework when their energy should be focused on clinical courses, not psychosocial theory. the attraction to med school, for me, is the in depth knowledge i would be provided. i love “nursing” and taking care of the critically ill, but i don’t share the opinion of those trying to hold onto the “nightingale mentality”. i want to be a thorough, competent clinician and desire to be taught as such.

ok, enough venting. i’m 28 yr old and have no pre reqs that satisfy admission for med school. i have A/P I and II, microbio, and a chem w/out lab, but don’t have any other “hard” sciences.

i looked into some post bacc programs, but the cost is considerable. my question, do med schools care if you take 2-3 yrs to complete the pre reqs on your own…as a non degree student, or is it more attractive to complete a post bacc? has anyone done the post bacc here? any RNs/ARNPs that decided to go to med school?

thanks. reading this forum is comforting knowing that there are others in the same situations.