NREMT-P to MD / DO

Hello

Anyone on her that has worked as a medic and decided to go on to MD or DO? Just wondering if your experiences as a provider helped ?

Hey Bosox,

I’m a full time firefighter/paramedic and I have had several interviews from D.O. schools thus far. I think it helps to have had some real world experience as a health care provider, it’s one of those things they look for in non-traditional applicants. It makes answering that “why medicine, why now” question a bit easier.

There are several people on this site who were former medics or EMT’s who have gained acceptance, including Gabe Lerman, whose diary is on this site. I can’t remember his name, but I want to say there is one medic who got an M.D. acceptance in N.C. this past year as well.

Keep those grades up and do as well as you can on the MCAT.

Best of luck,

Dan

I worked as a medic for about 4 years and am currently in the interview stage. Aside from emergency physicians, not many of the admissions people realize that medics aren’t EMTs. In other words, they dont know that we intubate, decompress, run codes by ourselves etc. It helps the most in answering questions on secondaries and in person like Guardian said. The only advice I would add is to not assume they know that we do a lot of stuff. You’ll feel redundant but tell them. Make sure they know you’ve run codes and made decisions etc.

As for the premed/prereq part, it doesn’t really help with the physical sciences that much. I gained some advantages in classes like bio2, physiology, microbiology, and some random things here and there. The biggest advantage was being used to getting tested all the time. ACLS practicals, PALS practicals, state test, national test, recert stuff etc. I never really batted an eye at the barrage of tests that can happen in some semesters but my classmates did. It’s doable for sure.

Bosox,