NYC Post-Bacc at Fordham University VS Second Bachelor's at Manhattan College

I am 27 years old. I got accepted by both schools. A pre-med Post-Bacc at Fordham University. A Second Bachelor B.S. in Biology at Manhattan College. Which one should I choose? The graduation time will be the same for both schools, will take about 2 and 2.5 years. I am a veteran so I have GI Bill, I do not worry about tuition. I have a low undergraduate GPA, in the 2s. I need to raise my GPA.

Fordham
Schedule: weekday evenings and weekends, because it wants to be convenient for people who have other jobs. Students will be of different ages, friendly for mature students.

Manhattan
Schedule: Full-time college, will take classes with recent high school grads, such as 17-22 range. I do not know how I will feel about sitting with people 10 years younger than me.

1 Like

Hey! I am a post-bacc student at Fordham, currently in my application cycle. Hopefully, I can shed some light to help in your decision-making.

To your points:
• Schedule: Most of the core science classes are on weekday evenings. The classes are 3 hours long instead of 1.5 hours on two separate days. Therefore, you need only one weekday per class (labs not included). This will give you the flexibility to do volunteering, shadowing, clinical work, etc., during the day/weekends to build up your application. Also, labs are the only weekend classes that I can think of.

• Age: I would say that most students in my class were undergrads. In a class of 20, there were probably 6-8 students who were older nontrads. I became friends with the older students and a mentor to some of the undergrads. My suggestion is to not worry about it much – focus on your grades and do the best you can. There are a bunch of veterans in the program, so you may find support through them. FYI - I was around the same age as some of my professors, and it didn’t bother me much.